This Week in the Mercury

End of an Era


End of an Era

See Ya, Habesha

One Day at a Time


One Day at a Time

The Week in Review

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

The Thurber Prize Is Only for Men, I Guess

Posted by Paul Constant on Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 9:44 AM

In his announcement of this year's Thurber Prize winner, The Washington Post's Ron Charles buries the lede:

The Thurber Prize began in 1996 and calls itself “the nation’s highest recognition of the art of humor writing.”

Previous winners of the prize include David Sedaris, Christopher Buckley and Calvin Trillin. No woman has even been named a winner of the Thurber Prize, though women have been finalists, and women may have been included in winning organizations such as the Onion and the Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

Oooh, ooh, I can hear the trolls now: "So what's the big deal? Maybe no woman has written anything worthy of the highest recognition of humor in the last seventeen years, is all." And let me respond to the trolls: Fuck you. You can't scientifically prove that one hilarious piece of writing is somehow more worthy of an award than another hilarious piece of writing. You can only offer your opinion. And the judges of the Thurber Prize, since 1996, have had the opinion that no woman is worthy of winning the Thurber Prize. That's more than a little lapse in political correctness. That's an injustice. You can see a full list of Thurber Prize winners here. They certainly do have a "type," don't they?

Comments (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-7 of 7

Comments are closed.

All contents © Index Newspapers, LLC

115 SW Ash St. Suite 600
Portland, OR 97204

Contact Info | Privacy Policy | Production Guidelines | Terms of Use | Takedown Policy